Posts Tagged ‘Denial’

Is Denial your narrative?



Life is extremely unfair, birth is a blind lottery, some win and some lose.

Some have enormous resources and support, others are born into abuse and poverty.

I see people with enormous resources at their disposal, grasp denial as the narrative.

I see others with very little resources who persevere and accept their challenges.

Getting better, improving, maybe even healing, is earned through hard work and courage.

I am amazed at watching people fight to remain a victim, isolate and refuse to take responsibility.

Whether it is PTSD, alcoholism or depression, it takes courage and action to change.

I try not to judge people but I spend very little time with victims and addicts.

That negative, manipulative energy drains my positive energy.

I witness people fighting to suffer, to continue denying addiction issues.

Incredible to witness someone lose everything and still deny their is an issue.

The mind is our worst enemy or our guide to happiness.

Change seems impossible for many.



David Kessler: The Five Stages of Grief; 1. Denial



1.  DENIAL:     Denial is the first of the five stages of grief. It helps us to survive the loss. In this stage, the world becomes meaningless and overwhelming.


Life makes no sense. We are in a state of shock and denial.


We go numb. We wonder how we can go on, if we can go on, why we should go on.


We try to find a way to simply get through each day. Denial and shock help us to cope and make survival possible.


Denial helps us to pace our feelings of grief. There is a grace in denial.


It is nature’s way of letting in only as much as we can handle.


As you accept the reality of the loss and start to ask yourself questions, you are unknowingly beginning the healing process.


You are becoming stronger, and the denial is beginning to fade.


But as you proceed, all the feelings you were denying begin to surface.





%d bloggers like this: